Life Changers

I was talking to my favorite guy yesterday and we were talking about our top 3 most life changing events. We both shared similar top two (being born & Jesus) but his third was surprising. It was me. I am in the top three things that have changed him- in a good way. I was really taken aback by that. I wouldn’t think that I would even be top 25, let alone well within the top 10.

As soon as he said it, I started thinking about all the reasons how I wasn’t “worthy” to be changing his life. Seriously though. If I were to dissect myself and my personality, I would say: prideful, independent, stubborn, too worried about the world and what others think of me, poor follow-through, part of a pack (not a leader). I look to other women, especially at church, and wish I was more like them. I’m really not worthy to be on a list that includes Jesus or an event that physically STARTS life. I think that just proves how much we discount ourselves.

I think we as a people have a collective problem of not realizing how far our light shines. A friend just the other day sent a picture of a recently found encouragement note I sent her 4 years ago, saying it founded a friendship and let her know she was welcome in a new community after all the change that comes with leaving home and going to college. I was just writing thoughts that were true – I enjoy your company and want you to stick around and keep hanging out with me! I didn’t know she would keep it all these years or that it was one of the factors in keeping her in the community. I’m also always astounded when my best friend calls me a role model, mostly because she knows my faults probably better than I know myself. And this girl is awesome. She’s patient, smart, gorgeous, and I’m just over here floundering around being stubborn but not stubborn enough to follow through and get what I want (see, even my faults have faults), but yet, I am an inspiration to her.

It’s so cool how God uses us to grow His kingdom. He knows my strengths and develops them in ways we can’t comprehend and His timing is perfect. I can be putting myself down for not going 5,000 steps for the day and end up walking around my room 98 times to get them in before midnight and then I get a text from a friend saying they’re so thankful for my friendship and the time I spend with them. That’s God telling me my worth isn’t in how many steps I walk in a day but in the relationships I foster and my actions that show people who He is, because that’s my end goal. That’s God telling me that I’m just as important a part in a friendship as the other person. The 5,000 steps is for me, but everything else is for God.

In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven. (Matthew 5:16 NIV)

Oh yeah, and, by the way, I hit my step goal and wake-up time every day this long and glorious, holiday weekend!


1. >5,000 steps (started 5/11): 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
2. 5:30AM (starting 5/19): 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

Life Changers

Leave a Reply

