Inspiration

It’s been a week and I think it’s time to remove the “blog every day” from my daily to-do list. Plain and simple, I just lack the things that would make that possible. I don’t go on grand adventures daily, I don’t take beautiful pictures to put up instead of words, I don’t have wonderful how-to guides to help other people. Every time I haven’t posted, I’ve opened up a new post window and just stared at a blank screen and decided I just didn’t have anything to say. It was making me feel pretty terrible about myself. I mean, look how many “I don’t”s I had above. The lack of things that I think will make me better.

So instead of thinking of all the “I don’t”s, I want to come up with the “I do”s that make it difficult to find inspiration or the time to type up some thoughts.

  • I DO have a full-time indoor job, sitting in front of a computer all day analyzing numbers. I can talk all day about budgeting, but just because I can does not mean I should.
  • DO (try to) live in the moment when I’m spending time with friends and family, focusing on them instead of worrying about coming up with some grand idea to blog about.
  • DO enjoy doing a ton of things (especially finding new places to go, new ways to do my hair, and *nerd alert* reading the news) when I find myself with time to spend on the internet.

I wanted to come up with 3 dos to cancel out the 3 don’ts. Though I was successful, it still took me so much longer to come up with the positive reasons than the negative ones. Why do we always think in terms of what we’re lacking when we have so much? I was reading another blog post (Hannah Brencher) about how she is terrible at budgeting but identified that she can use her skills to help create a budget template that makes her excited to budget. She used her dos to cancel out her don’ts and that’s just awesome. Also, she’s awesome, everyone read about her (my all of 3 readers… 2 of which already do).

PS. Someone broke a step record with grabbing her 5k steps BEFORE 10AM #crushedit


Habits:

1. >5,000 steps (started 5/11): 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
2. Blog posts (started 5/14): 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21
3. 5:30AM (starting 5/19): 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21

Double PS. Crossing off the whole blog post habit line lifted such a huge weight off my shoulders. Obviously the right thing to do.

Inspiration

Leave a Reply

